Banana Nut Bread with a Lemon Cream Cheese Topping

 

SO I rummaged through my pantry, fridge and freezer desperate to make something fun and creative. I googled recipe’s until I came across two very different ones.  ONE was a banana muffin recipe that had a cream cheese topping that once baked was like frosting on a cupcake, I was sold.  The second recipe was a mixture of cranberries, lemon and coconut…. I dont like the texture of flaked coconut but was tempted to use this wonderfully tempting mixture in the hopes that if I used it in a bread mixture it would bake into the bread and I would be left with just the awesome flavor of coconut without the weird gritty crunch of the flakes…. One problem though, I didn’t have any cranberries. I did have a pinch of dried blueberries and a bag of frozen mixed berries.  I surfed around the internet some more and discovered that yes I can use frozen fruit in bread mix! Now that I had that issue settled I then had to figure out if I was going to make two separate batches or mix everything together and make some hybrid banana berry lemon coconut cream cheese bread….I compromised.

I made one batch of banana bread, with 1C mixed berries added to the ingredients above. I also decided to omit fresh squeezed lemon juice/zest from the bread mix but add lemon extract to the cream cheese topping…unfortunately as I began to mix the ingredients together I discovered that my bread mix was turning purple.  I also discovered once it was baked that the blackberries or strawberries were leaving an uncomfortable seedy crunch to the bread that I strongly disliked.  The cream cheese/lemon topping however, was delicious!

Bread batch number two was plain banana bread with some walnuts. I think next time Ill skip the fancy berries and toss in some fresh blueberries though.  The lemon cream cheese topping adds a wonderful tart flavor to the simple banana bread.

are you still sitting there wondering what to do?? Hmmm OK let’s get this party started!

 

INGREDIENTS

BREAD:

2 C Flour

1tsp baking soda

1tsp baking powder

1/2 C sugar

1/2 C brown sugar

1 egg

1tsp vanilla

1C applesauce

TOPPING:

4oz cream cheese

1/4 C sugar

1 egg yolk

1/2 tsp vanilla

1tsp Lemon extract

 

Mix all the ingredients together. Typically I go dry to wet, but you can do whatever you choose.  I had my food processor on the counter still so i went ahead and used it for chopping the banana and frozen mixed berries, but this can easily be done by hand. I needed a little bit more moisture in the bread mix so I added a splash of water to get it to the right consistency(a little thicker than brownie batter).  Then poured the mix into the bread loaf pan.  Then I mixed the ingredients for the cream cheese mixture and put a dollop down the center of the mix in the bread loaf pan.  When the bread baked up in the pan the cream chesese spread itself across the top of the bread creating the illusion of frosting.  Bake @ 375 degrees for 30-40 min. Keep an eye on it, when it starts browning on the top and you can stick a toothpick in and have it come out try, its done.

Let it cool and then slice and serve. Ive heard that this bread and cream cheese topping is the best after its been put in the fridge so we’ll see in the morning!!

Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

